A Delicious Story By Barney Saltzberg

Category:
ISBN: 9781662640179

Format:

Published by (2023-06-06)

"You ate the story?" says one mouse to the other in this funny, heartfelt read-aloud with pitch-perfect repartee and Barney Saltzberg's signature take on the joys of creativity.

Two mice—one big and one small—have a terrible problem. Little Mouse is looking for a story—they’re in a book, after all!—and Big Mouse has to admit the truth. The story is gone. And (gasp!) he ate it. That is not okay with Little Mouse, who is all ready to hear a story and will settle for nothing less. Saltzberg's improvisational dialogue showcases both the patience required of true creativity and the dazzling on-the-spot storytelling that can happen when you get in the flow. In the end, these endearing mice work out their conflict— and make the reader realize that they’ve been delivering a story all along. Parents and children will want to take this satisfying comedic journey together again and again.

Book Details

Format: eBook
Price: 11.99 USD / 15.99 CAD
Published: 2023-06-06
ISBN: 9781662640179
Imprint:
Page Count: 80
Trim Size: 8 x 10
Ages:

"This book IS delicious. Pun WAY intended. Imaginative and connecting.”  — Jamie Lee Curtis, Bestselling author of Today I Feel Silly and Other Moods that Make My Day

“Barney Saltzberg has done it again!  A DELICIOUS STORY is hilarious, delightful, and . . . DELICIOUS! Kids will eat this one up!" — Peggy Rathman, Caldecott Winner for Officer Buckle and Gloria

“Sweet and silly, this book reminds us that everyone is hungry for a good story.” — Sherri Duskey Rinker, New York Times Bestselling author of Goodnight, Goodnight, Construction Site

"A delightful picture book that is a doorway to much for kids! From learning about what a story is, to thinking about characters and their feelings, to making new friends, this picture book has it all. Wonderful illustrations and use of space on the page put it over the top!” — Lorie Barber, Anderson’s Bookshop

"A fun story about stories!" — Kate Reynolds, Colgate Bookstore

"Great book for younger elementary level readers. They can read and share this with others." — Pam Gombert, Kentwood Public Schools (MI)

"A spunky, laugh-out-loud picture book for fans of "The Book with No Pictures." A great book for story time!" — Amanda Zirn Hudson, Bethany Books

"A super cute book that would be great for story times. Perfect for fans of Elephant and Piggy books. The surprise ending will delight young readers."  — Lauren Wilder, Jefferson County Library

"A delightfully meta-story perfect for the early elementary audience. The use of dialogue is a popular choice for students raised on Mo Willems and aspiring to the graphic novels older students devour around them. The illustrations are also delightful, both both and clear and sketchy lines. Very successful." — Erin Tobiasz, Youth Services Librarian, C. C. Mellor Memorial Library

STAY CONNECTED Sign up