Categories: , , ,
ISBN: 9780756415594

Format:

Published by (2019-12-03)

Set after the Aurora Award-winning novel, A Play of Shadow, this novella explores the story of a young boy whose fanciful tales of dragons and dangers may prove to be more than just fiction.

Werfol returns to Vorkoun with his family to find their fortunes changed for the worse. His father is in disgrace and banished from court. Meanwhile, Vorkoun has been ceded to Asnor by the prince's treaty and no one knows what that will mean.

And to complicate matters further, Werfol is now a truthseer, able to discern if another is lying. His training has barely begun, but his mother refuses to send him back to his uncle in Marrowdell. Werfol, bored and heartsick, retreats to his imagination, secretly writing a story about a brave boy who befriends a young dragon. In their adventures, “Prince William” is always the hero but, in real life, Werfol grows angrier and more afraid every day.

It doesn’t help that Werfol's brother Semyn, once his closest confidant, can’t remember Marrowdell’s magic. Then Semyn, worried about Werfol, finds his story and shows their parents. Their mother, plagued by dangerous dreams, fears her son may become a doorway to a threat far more dangerous than a treaty.

For Werfol wrote of a dragon the colour of a Sei, a being so potent its curiosity once tore apart worlds. Suddenly, no one, not even Werfol, can be sure where his imagination ends and the magical Verge begins.

Can a boy who sees the lies in others find the truth within himself?

Book Details

Format: eBook
Price: 2.99 USD / 2.99 CAD
Published: 2019-12-03
ISBN: 9780756415594
Imprint:
Page Count: 150

Praise for the Night's Edge duology:

“An enchanting and gentle fable, rich with detail and characters you will love.” —Charles de Lint

"A warm and intricate fantasy opus with large themes woven into a charming story." —Charlaine Harris

“Science fiction author Czerneda will charm fantasy readers with multidimensional characters, a vivid setting, and powerful themes of hope and renewal.” —Publishers Weekly

"Known for her powerful and insightful sf novels, Czerneda brings the same exacting sensibility to her brilliant fantasy debut. Her characters are both charming and believable, and Jenn, her friend Wisp, and the soldier Bannan stand out as memorable and utterly real. While this can be read as a stand-alone, there are plenty of possibilities for more stories in the world outside Marrowdell. Fans of L.E. Modesitt Jr. and Charles de Lint will love this fantastic and magical fable." —Library Journal

"I was captivated by Julie Czerneda's A Turn of Light. Yep, she used her writerly powers and sucked me right in. Many fantasy novels out there are *about* magic. Few, like Julie's, embody it." —Kristen Britain

"Luminous and beguiling. With Marrowdell and its enchanting inhabitants, Julie Czerneda has conjured a world that readers can sink into and disappear. I lost myself to this tale that is, by turns, lovely, lyrical, and thrilling. This book is a feast for the mind and the heart." —Lesley Livingston

A Turn of Light is a gorgeous creation. Julie Czerneda's world and characters are richly layered and wonderful—full of mystery, hope and, most of all, heart. Come spend some time in Marrowdell. It's worth the journey. And be polite to the toads.” —Anne Bishop

"Infused with idyllic enchantment, Julie Czerneda weaves a heart-warming bucolic tale, packed with magic both wild and strange—a top notch fantasy read!" —Janny Wurts

"It contains some of the most lyrical, breathtakingly beautiful writing I have run across in my many years writing reviews." —Bookworm Blues

STAY CONNECTED Sign up