Antonia

A Journey to a New Home

Category:

Format:

Published by (2021-09-14)

Perfect for fans of Oliver Jeffers and Jon Klassen, this nearly wordless picture book tells a heartwarming and hopeful story of loss and new beginnings as a little girl and her dog, Antonia, journey with their family across a river to start a new life.

Like so many people around the world facing difficult times, the little girl and her family in this eye-catching and emotionally satisfying picture book have had to leave their home. The girl has brought along her belongings and her friendly, curious dog, Antonia. While waiting for a boat to take them across a river, she plays with other children who've also brought pets --a duck and a bird. But on the other side of the river, Antonia goes missing in the brush. The girl is distraught, until a new friend releases his own pet bird from its cage in an extraordinary gesture of solidarity and freedom. With colorful, whimsical illustrations and an uplifting message of resilience, this US debut from a talented Colombian creator will leave readers with a full heart.

Book Details

Format: Hardcover
Price: 18.99 USD / 24.99 CAD
Published: 2021-09-14
Imprint:
Page Count: 40
Trim Size: 8-3/5 x 8-3/5
Grades:
Ages:

“Conveys with power one child’s loss from forced migration.” - Publishers Weekly

“Can launch important conversations between adults and children about the circumstances in which a family might have to move, and the immense difficulties that can ensue." - School Library Journal

STAY CONNECTED Sign up