Categories: ,
ISBN: 9781662640049

Format:

Published by (2022-10-04)

A "How to Draw" lesson spins hilariously out of control when Cat just won't stay happy! This relatable madcap read-aloud is immense fun, and perfect for fans of Dragons Love Tacos.

Drawing a happy cat seems like such an easy thing to do. Just follow the instructions in this book! Wait a minute . . . why doesn't Cat look happy? We gave her a stuffy and a cool t-shirt! Uh-oh! Turns out drawing a happy cat is harder than it looks. Now it's the reader's job to find out why Cat isn't staying happy AND draw everything she wants! (That might include skateboards, friends, and yes--even a pizza-flinging catapult.) This clever, often tender, laugh-out-loud picture book breaks the fourth wall in charming ways; will have kids asking for repeat reads; and will defintely have parents nodding knowingly at the escalating cycle of demands. Can you draw a happy cat?

Book Details

Format: Hardcover
Price: 24.99 CAD / 18.99 USD
Published: 2022-10-04
ISBN: 9781662640049
Imprint:
Page Count: 40
Trim Size: 11 x 8-1/2
Grades:
Ages:

“What you’d get if you combined Ed Emberley with If You Give A Mouse A Cookie….. The cat...is adorable, and I find the idea of a How To Draw book that’s ideal for reading aloud to be a very fascinating notion. Keep this one on your radar.” - Betsy Bird, A Fuse #8 Production, School Library Journal

“Fun, exuberant …. A satisfying mission to find happiness and fun; mission accomplished.” - Kirkus Reviews

"This book blends beginner “how to draw” instruction with a manic mash-up of Dav Pilkey’s “How 2 Draw” Dog Man ­segments and Laura Numeroff’s “If You Give a” series....has all the makings of a story hour project that will have kids cracking up and chaos ensuing. Give it a try." - Chance Lee Joyner, School Library Journal

"This imaginative, creative, read-out-loud picture book is hilarious. Kids will love the fun vibe and parents will know the book is a winner after it is requested to be read again and again. The illustrations are fantastic and there are ample opportunities for interaction as kids are instructed how to draw different objects that may make an unhappy kitty contented. The author leaves a pathway for a sequel at the end of the book with the statement: "But now Chicken is sad." Bring it on...kid's will love to hear more I'm sure!” Marilyn Panton, Storywraps

"If you're looking for a fun drawing book, this is it!…. absolutely perfect for K-2 and would be so much fun to use as part of a drawing lesson…..will surely appeal to kids of all ages.” — Barbara Leyne, Grade Onederful

"What a silly, fun and educational book. I simply adore how the author and illustrator built in simple drawing lessons into a story about friends, fun and of a course a pizza catapult!! This book is sure to keep kids from about 4 - 10 ( likely moms & dads too!!) busy for hours. And do I smell a sequel? How to Draw a Happy Chicken? YES please!!” — Kelly Baquerizo, reviewer

STAY CONNECTED Sign up