Seeing

A Memoir of Truth and Courage from China's Most Influential Television Journalist

Format:

Published by (2021-12-07)

In the tradition of Katy Tur, Jane Pauley, and Peter Jennings, Chai Jing shows us the power of television news and the complex challenges of reporting in China.

After garnering an intimate cult following as a late-night college radio DJ, Chai Jing is thrust into the spotlight when she is offered a position as a news anchor at CCTV, China's official state news channel. She struggles to find her footing while discovering corruption, courage, and hope within the people she meets.
 
Through an immediate and deeply personal narrative, Chai tells the stories of SARS quarantine wards, a teenage suicide cult, domestic violence, the consequences of industrial pollution, and workplace sexism, while examining her growth as a journalist. At times doubting her abilities and fighting through the challenges of a male-dominated workplace, Chai Jing returns time and again to the extraordinary stories of her interviewees, committed to sharing their voices.
 
This candid memoir about overcoming government obstacles and finding success provides a rare window into how China has faced challenges like pollution, climate change, and unfair standards for women in the public eye.

Book Details

Format: Hardcover
Price: 27 USD / 36 CAD
Published: 2021-12-07
Imprint:
Page Count: 304
Trim Size: 6 x 9
STAY CONNECTED Sign up