Shannivar By Deborah J. Ross


Book Two of The Seven-Petaled Shield

Part of series

Categories: , ,
ISBN: 9781101635674


Published by (2013-12-03)

A Kirkus notable new release!

Shannivar is a young warrior, skilled in horsemanship and archery and raised by her uncle, the clan chieftain. When all the other young warrior-women have set aside their bows and arrows for husbands, she still dreams of glory.

Desperate to resist the imperialistic arm of the nearby growing empire, all of the clans of her nation are gathering to propose an alliance. As Shannivar and her fellow delegates travel to the meeting, they encounter a stranger, Zevaron, heir to the magical Seven-Petaled Shield. Zevaron also seeks to halt the empire’s expansion on behalf of his own fallen lost nation and joins forces with Shannivar. Shannivar has never met anyone like Zevaron, with his aura of power and quiet assurance.

Soon the clan gathering is ready, except for the mysterious absence of the clan from the far north. When the ragged band of the missing delegates finally arrive, they tell strange and ominous stories; and Zevaron, bestowed with the ancient central stone of the mystical Seven-Petaled Shield, feels a great emanation of danger from the north . Together, he and Shannivar set out on a journey to discover the source of these dangers—a quest even the prophets believe will fail. Shannivar is the second installment of the thrilling The Seven-Petaled Shield series.

Book Details

Format: eBook
Price: 7.99 USD / 8.99 CAD
Published: 2013-12-03
ISBN: 9781101635674
Page Count: 464

“Rejoice.... Ross's literary strength [is] her sensitivity to human needs and talents.”—Publisher’s Weekly
“Deborah has contrived to express the rich tapestry of the characters and backdrop of Darkover in a way that would make Marion proud.”—ConNations (for Darkover series)
“Ross succeeds in keeping [Darkover] true to Bradley’s style.”—Booklist (for Darkover series)
“Fans will be pleased, and those new to the world of Darkover have a treat in store.”—VOYA (for Darkover series)