Thieving Sun By Monica Datta

Thieving Sun

A Novel

Categories: ,
ISBN: 9781662602566

Format:

Published by (2024-03-26)

In this searing debut novel, for readers of Katie Kitamura and Rachel Cusk, the tragic aftermath of a youthful relationship years after its end brings the life of a mourning woman in New York--and the pursuit of art--into stark relief.

Told in short passages through a musical device, this international story follows Julienne and Gaspar to Syria, China, Germany and elsewhere.

Julienne, a student of sculpture, and Gaspar, a young composer, fall in love at a small college and share a home for more than a decade before encountering the fundamental rift that will change their lives. The reverberations of grief force Julienne to confront her painful past including the mystery of her own birth and the fantastical story ascribed to it by her flight attendant mother, so that she can envision, for the first time, a real future.

Ultimately, Thieving Sun is a profound and contemporary meditation on art, grief, debt, suicide, loss, and the danger of being alive.

Book Details

Format: eBook
Price: 18.99 CAD / 13.99 USD
Published: 2024-03-26
ISBN: 9781662602566
Imprint:
Page Count: 216
Trim Size: 5 x 7

"Monica Datta's prose gallops like music and glitters like shards. Formally daring and compulsively readable, Thieving Sun heralds the arrival of an extraordinary talent." 
—Susan Choi, author of National Book Award winner Trust Exercise

"Thieving Sun is a highly intelligent, staggeringly inventive novel structured by music scales indicating time, but it's more than that: emotionally powerful, sad, whimsical, and beautiful, this book is a dizzying delight. Monica Datta is a startlingly inventive writer who has written a moving story of love and loss. Absolutely brilliant."
—Brandon Hobson, author of National Book Award finalist Where the Dead Sit Talking

"Intricate, enigmatic, piccant and fascinating."
—Lucy Ellmann, author of Goldsmiths Prize winner Ducks, Newburyport


STAY CONNECTED Sign up