Y/N

A Novel

Category:
ISBN: 9781662601545

Format:

Published by (2023-02-14)

An unmissable debut novel about a Korean American woman living in Berlin whose obsession with a member of a wildly popular K-pop band sends her to Seoul on a hilarious, high-concept journey of literary self-destruction—for fans of Elif Batuman and Yoko Tawada.


    It’s as if her life only began once Moon appeared in it. The desultory copywriting work, the German boyfriend, and the want of anything not-Moon quickly fall away when she beholds the idol in concert, where Moon dances as if his movements are creating their own gravitational field; on live streams, where fans around the world comment in dozens of languages; even on the packaging of skincare products endorsed by the sensational Korean boyband, of which Moon is the youngest, most luminous member. Bursting with ineffable desire, but with nowhere to put these outsized feelings, our unnamed narrator begins writing Y/N fanfic, an interactive genre in which the reader, [Your Name], is the protagonist of the story. Increasingly, her fiction serves as a philosophical arena where she can play out an intimate relationship with the unattainable star.
    Then her boyfriend dumps her and Moon vanishes from the public eye. As Y/N flies from Berlin to Seoul to be with Moon, our narrator, too, journeys to the city where her parents were born in search of the object of her love. There, an escalating series of mistranslations and misidentifications land her at the headquarters of the Kafkaesque entertainment company that manages the boyband; at a secret location, together with Moon at last, art and real life approach their final convergence. But nothing unfolds as she’d hypothesized, and she must confront the disquieting consequences of having authored a story without a fixed protagonist. Can love exist where there is no self, no cultural memory, no personal history to tether it? Can Moon ever love her back?
    Crackling with the mordant angst of Ottessa Moshfegh and the sinewy ingenuity of Thomas Pynchon, Y/N is an astonishing debut, a bravura performance of the modern absurd, and a poignant picture of the loneliness that afflicts contemporary life.

Book Details

Format: eBook
Price: 35 CAD / 14.99 USD
Published: 2023-02-14
ISBN: 9781662601545
Imprint:
Page Count: 128
Trim Size: 5-1/2 x 8-1/4
STAY CONNECTED Sign up