Bonus Materials
Hippo Park Conversation Cards
Activity

Get The Book!

A Delicious Story

Author: Barney Saltzberg

“You ate the story?” says one mouse to the other in this funny, heartfelt read-aloud with pitch-perfect repartee and Barney Saltzberg’s signature take on the joys of creativity. Two mice—one…

View Details

Herbert Climbs to the Top

Author: Rilla Alexander

In the fourth miniature picture book in the Hippo Park Pals series, Herbert climbs to the top of the jungle gym and makes a heroic rescue when Teddy falls! The…

View Details

How to Draw a Happy Cat

Author: Ethan T. Berlin; Illustrated by Jimbo Matison

A “How to Draw” lesson spins hilariously out of control when Cat just won’t stay happy! This relatable madcap read-aloud is immense fun, and perfect for fans of Dragons Love…

View Details

Pepper and Me

Author: Beatrice Alemagna

From the New York Times Book Review: “The unnamed narrator scrapes her knee. ‘I cried like a baby,’ she confesses. “It was like a scary movie with you-know-what dripping down…

View Details

One Cool Duck #1

Author: Mike Petrik

What’s cool, anyway? Skateboards, pizza, arcade games—and being kind! This buoyant young graphic chapter book introduces Duck and pals, kicking off a series that makes real-life friendship issues fun. Duck…

View Details

Itty Bitty Betty Blob

Author: Constance Lombardo; Illustrated by Micah Player

Itty Bitty Betty Blob wants to growl for the camera on monster picture day, but every year it goes wrong. Will practice make perfect? Or can Betty find a way…

View Details

Tiny Spoon vs. Little Fork

Author: Constance Lombardo; Illustrated by Dan & Jason

Take silly seriously! A fall-off-your-high-chair funny picture book starring a spoon, a fork, and the baby they both want to feed, perfect for fans of The Bad Seed. “Time to…

View Details

A Bear, a Bee, and a Honey Tree

Author: Daniel Bernstrom; Illustrated by Brandon James Scott

Boisterous and buzzing, A Bear, a Bee, and a Honey Tree is destined to be an instant classic . . . with delightfully funny illustrations and clever, fun-to-read text, from…

View Details

Mermaids’ Song to the Sea

Author: Dianna Hutts Astin; Illustrated by Renee Kurilla

From acclaimed poet Dianna Hutts Aston (An Egg is Quiet) and #1 NYT bestselling illustrator Renée Kurilla (Just Because by Matthew McConaughey) comes a charming book in which three adorable mermaids…

View Details

STAY CONNECTED Sign up